Market Watch

Maribyrnong Plate: Venue, Past Winners, History, and More 

The Maribyrnong Plate was first run in 1871 and won by Argus Scandal. It is a Victoria Racing Club Group 3 Thoroughbred horse race for two-year-old horses, who run over a distance of 1000 metres. 

Many great horses and jockeys have been a part of the Maribyrnong Plate. Some winners competed again after winning the title, while others like Hard Landing didn’t race again until 2020 after winning on debut.

The total prize money of Maribyrnong Plate is set at $200,000. The Maribyrnong Plate 2021 will be run on November 2, 2021, at Flemington Racecourse. The Maribyrnong Plate is headlined by the Melbourne Cup. 2020’s winner of the Maribyrnong Plate was Finance Tycoon. The race is held under set weight & penalties. 

More Info on Maribyrnong Plate

The Maribyrnong Plate is run alongside the Emirates Stakes and Patinack Farm Classic in early November. Maribyrnong Plate is the only two year group event of the carnival. In the past, the Maribyrnong Plate was run on the first day of the VRC Spring Carnival, Victoria Derby Day. But in recent times, it is run on the last day. In 2018 and 2019, it was run on Oaks day, while in 2020, it was moved to Cup day.

The notable and successful winners of the Maribyrnong Plate include General Truce (2009), Husson Lightning (2006), Nadeem (2005), Bel Esprit (2001), Testa Rossa (1998), Flavour (1995), Canny Lad (1989), Show County (1988), Rancho Ruler (1986), New Atlantis (1984), Rancher (1981), Blazing Saddles (1976), Scamanda (1973), Baguette (1969), Vain (1968), Biscay (1967), Fine And Dandy (1958), Heroic (1923) and Newminster (1875).

The top horses of the Maribyrnong Plate include Bel Esprit (2001), Testa Rossa (1998), Canny Lad (1989), Show County (1988), Rancho Ruler (1986), and Rancher (1981).

Till 1994, the race was five furlongs. Then, it was 1200m in 1995 and 1100m in 1995 until it moved back to 100m from 1996. The race is named after the Maribyrnong River, which runs from the 2000m chute into the back part of Flemington. In 1974 and 2014, the river flooded the race track. 

When it comes to Maribyrnong Plate betting, the best time to bet is when you know who is going to be part of the race. You can go to different live markets of the 2021 edition to check the current Maribyrnong Plate betting odds

Maribyrnong Plate – Past Winners

Because of its long history, the Maribyrnong Plate has seen various decent horses over the years. From 1871 to 2020, the winners of the Maribyrnong Plate include:

Argus Scandal, Dagmar, Stockbridge, Maid Of All Work, Newminster, Habena, Vulcan, Nellie, Palmyra, Lavinia Welcome Jack, Segenhoe, Narina, Iolanthe, Newstead, Acme, Hortense, Lonsdale, Necklet, The Admiral, Yarran, Etra Weenie, The Sailor Prince, Dreamland, Arihi, Newhaven, Keera, Lady Mostyn, Scorn, Finland, Ibex, Niphetos, Duke of Grafton, Bee Bee, Murillo, Oreillet, Maltine, Mother Goose, Brookong, Desert Rose, Philio, Gold Brew, Beragoon, Traquette, Red Signal, Etterfred, Pah King, Sweet Lady, Gambler’s Gold, Trey, Antarian, Bellambi, Lady Reynard, Heroic, Manacre, Rampion, Royal Feast, Mollision, Parkwood, Green Wave, La Justice, Vauntry, Rapsonia, Pasha, Bimilla, Fidelity, Sweet Memories, Nuffield, Aurania, Broadcaster, All Love, Hesione, Maemanto, Oakloaw, Felstar, Bold Beau, Moonbeam, Scotwyn, Scotwyn, Adela, Mighty Song, Jana, Cellar Master, Apple Jack, Fascinating, Aboukir, Starover, Concert Star,Sandhurst, Fine and Dandy, Dalai, Native Statesman, Jan’s Image, Heirloom, L’Orage Boy, King Star, Very Merry, Birthlight, Biscay, Vain, Baguette, Captain Hayes, Friar’s Joy, New Gleam, Scamanda, Caboul, Aqua D’Oro, Blazing Saddles, Peeping, Star Shower, King Zavata, Fire Thunder, Rancher, Brave Show, Martec, New Atlantis, Lord Mornington, Rancho Ruler, Sculpture’s Blue, Show Country, Canny Lad, Raise a Rythym, Catchfire, The Heavyweight, Tennessee Morn, Exclusive Hello, Flavour, Lady of the Pines, Catnipped, Testa Rossa, Happy Giggle Langoustine, Bel Esprit, Ra Sun, Sanziro, Jiang, Nadeem, Husson Lighting, Exceedingly Good, Our Joan of Arc, General Truce, Arctic Command, Real Stolle, Direct Charge, Boomwaa, Prompt Retun, Power Trip, Aspect, Run  Naan, Vinicunca, Hard Landing, Finance Tycoon. 

From 1871 to 1978, the Maribyrnong Plate was a Principal Race. Then, from 1979–2004, it was a Group 2 race, whereas, from 2005 onwards, it became a Group 3 race. 

Final Takeaway 

The Maribyrnong Plate has seen its fair share of great horses and jockeys. 

Restricted to two-year-olds and run under set weights, Maribyrnong Plate is one of the most important races held in Australia. It is run over 1000 metres and carries the prize money of $200,000. The Maribyrnong Plate is run on the last day of the VRC Spring Carnival. 

You can check the Maribyrnong Plate betting odds to learn about the hopefuls to win the Maribyrnong Plate 2021. This year too, the Maribyrnong Plate is set to be held at Flemington Racecourse on November 2nd, with prize money of $200,000. 

Gamble responsibly. Contact the Gambling Helpline for free and confidential support, information and counselling on 1800 858 858 or visit